The establishment of the Italian Serie A

The Italian Serie A is the top tier of professional football in Italy, consisting of 20 teams. You can start betting online with 1xBet bookmaker on all matches of this incredible tournament too.

It is considered one of the most prestigious football leagues in the world and has produced some of the greatest footballers in history.

The league was first established in 1898 as the Italian Football Championship, and initially consisted of only four teams that came from three cities. These cities were:

  • Genoa;
  • Turin;
  • and Milan.

Punters can make online betting with the 1xBet bookmaker on the best football teams from Italy.

A simple format

The format of the league was a single round-robin tournament. The team that accumulated the most points were crowned the champions. The Italian Football Championship continued in this format until 1929, when the first professional football league in Italy was formed. The modern version of this tournament can be wagered at the website.

The creation of the professional league in Italy was driven by the need to modernize the game and generate more revenue for the clubs. In 1926, the Italian Football Federation (FIGC) decided to allow professional football. Two years later, the professional league, known as Serie A, was created, whose all matches are available at the 1xBet website.

Evolution of the tournament

The first season of Serie A began in 1929 with 18 teams, and the format of the league was a double round-robin tournament. Bologna emerged as the first champions of Serie A, and the league has been contested every year since then. Bologna and other teams are available at 1xBet – best bet football can be made on all these squads.

Over the years, the format of the league has undergone several changes. In 1934, the league was expanded to 20 teams.

In 1949 the number of teams increased to 21. The following season, the league was reduced to 20 teams, which has remained the standard number of teams in Serie A to this day.

In the 1950s, the dominance of the Northern teams was challenged by the emergence of the Southern teams. Napoli was the best example, who won their first Serie A title in 1987. The 1980s and 1990s were dominated by AC Milan. They won the Scudetto five times in a row from 1988 to 1992, and then again in 1994.

The 21st century has seen the emergence of Juventus as the dominant force in Serie A. They won the Scudetto 9 times in a row from 2011 to 2020. Other teams like Inter Milan, AC Milan, and Napoli have also been successful during this period. You can make your best football bet at the 1xBet website on all these teams too.

Leave a Comment